DSC_8700_V2_Banner.jpg

Witalij Frese

In his ceramic works Witalij Frese (*1992) deals primarily with questions of corporeality and body perception in the context of cultural, political, religious and psychological conditioning. In doing so, he questions our traditional norms of viewing and evaluating the body. As in his painting, Witalij Frese's ceramics refer to ancient as well as Christian iconography and classical symbols. The artist cleverly and thoughtfully integrates those into his own morphology and thereby allows new possibilities of interpretation for these preconceived symbols.

His gender-free and gender-fluid bodily beings are constantly in search of their own selves. They strive to undergo various developments and wish to reinvent themselves. In his portrayals, Frese does not seek definitive classification, but rather emphasises the individual ability to transform the body. Especially in his ceramics that particularly emanate fragility, the artist symbolises the body as an organic shell striving for fulfilment with meaning.

Witalij Frese was born in 1992 in Russia. He studied painting at the Berlin University of the Arts with Martin Gerwers as well as Gina Burdass and Valérie Favre from 2013. Further, he also spent one semester at the Moscow State Academic Art Institute. In 2019 he completed his studies as master student of Valérie Favre at the Berlin University of the Arts. He was a GOPEA scholarship holder, received the scholarship of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research in 2018 and was honoured with the Anna Oppermann Prize in 2016. In 2015 he received the recognition award of the Schulz-Stübner Foundation.

Exhibitions at HELDENREIZER 

  • 2020 - "Welcome to NEUROPOLIS", 11.09. - 15.10.2020 in Munich

Vita

  • Born in 1992 in Russia 

  • Lives and works in Berlin

  • Moscow State Academic Art Institute named after V.I. Surikov
    of Russian Academy of Arts / Russia

  • 2013 - 2019 M.F.A./graduate and master student, Berlin University of the Arts, in the class of Valérie Favre

Awards and Scholarships

  • 2019 - 2021 GOPEA Grant Project 2019-2021

  • 2018 - 2019 Scholarship of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research

  • 2016 Anna Oppermann Prize

  • 2015 Moscow State Academic Art Institute named after V.I. Surikov
    of Russian Academy of Arts / Russia

  • 2015 Recognition Award / Anerkennungspreis der Schulz-Stübner-Stiftung

DSC_8700_V2_Banner.jpg

Witalij Frese

In seinen Werken befasst sich Witalij Frese (*1992) vor allem mit Fragen von Körperlichkeit und Körperwahrnehmung im Kontext kultureller, politischer, religiöser und psychologischer Prägung. Dabei stellt er tradierte Normen von Körperbetrachtung und -Bewertung infrage. Wie in seiner Malerei auch, rekurriert Frese in seinen Keramiken auf antike sowie christliche Ikonographie und klassische Symbole, die er klug und bedächtig in seine eigene Morphologie einbindet und damit neue Deutungsmöglichkeiten für vorgeprägte Symbole eröffnet.

 

Seine gender-freien und geschlechtlich fluiden Körperwesen befinden sich immerzu auf der Suche nach ihrem Selbst, wollen verschiedene Entwicklungen durchleben und sich neu erfinden. Frese strebt in seinen Darstellungen nicht nach endgültiger Einordnung, sondern betont vielmehr die individuelle Wandelbarkeit des Körpers. Besonders in seinen Keramiken, deren Zerbrechlichkeit besonders deutlich ist, versinnbildlicht Frese den Körper als organische Hülle, die nach Erfüllung mit Sinn strebt. 

Frese studierte ab 2013 Malerei an der Universität der Künste in Berlin, bei Martin Gerwers sowie Gina Burdass und Valérie Favre. Ein Semester verbrachte er zudem am Moscow State Academic Art Institute. Im Jahr 2019 schloss er seinen M.F.A. als Meisterschüler von Valérie Favre an der Universität der Künste ab. Er war Stipendiat der GOPEA, erhielt 2018 das Deutschlandstipendium und wurde 2016 mit dem Anna-Oppermann-Preis geehrt. 2015 erhielt er den Anerkennungspreis der Schulz-Stübner-Stiftung.

 

Ausstellungen bei HELDENREIZER 

  • 2022 CONNECT AND DISCONNECT, 20.05. - 15.07.2022 in München

Vita

  • Geb. 1992 in Russland

  • Lebt und arbeitet in Berlin

  • Moscow State Academic Art Institute named after V.I. Surikov
    of Russian Academy of Arts / Russland

  • 2013 – 2019 M.F.A./Absolvent und Meisterschüler, Universität der Künste Berlin, Klasse Valérie Favre

Auszeichnungen

  • 2019 – 2021 GOPEA-Förderprojekt 2019-2021

  • 2018 – 2019 Deutschlandstipendium des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung

  • 2016 Anna-Oppermann-Preis

  • 2015 Moscow State Academic Art Institute named after V.I. Surikov
    of Russian Academy of Arts / Russia

  • 2015 Recognition Award / Anerkennungspreis der Schulz-Stübner-Stiftung