WITALIJ FRESE
CONNECT AND DISCONNECT

May 20, 2022 - July 15, 2022

In the first exhibition devoted solely to his ceramics, Witalij Frese (*1992 Alexandrowka, Russia) shows the human body as a fluid, mythical and ever-searching integral being. The black and white vessels, reliefs and body construction kits – ceramic beings connected with wire, whose skeletons are composed of individual fragments – oscillate between vulnerability and blunt realism. In his works, Frese is seeking for the meaning of physical existence and the desire to express himself anew. Thus, the artist often approaches the body through its individual parts. In his works, he decomposes, forms and configures the human organism according to a wide variety of feelings and sensibilities. His versions of body shells, that are reminiscent of ancient Greek and Roman ceramics, are hybrid and explicit.

 

In direct confrontation with female and male sexual characteristics, sensitive compositions consisting of sculptural and ornamental elements emerge, united by the artist's hand. While the penis handles and the vulva frieze clearly refer to an old gender order, the transitions within the vessels are fluid. There is a constant interplay of male and female attributes.

 

For Frese, penis and vulva also represent anchor points for subjects such as shame and the striving to overcome the historical gender order as they are closely linked to traditional role models. The personal classification through certain body characteristics can also be decisive for self-perception and identity. Especially if the need for bodily belonging is a factor for social belonging. Not feeling connected to one's own body disturbs and weighs down the soul. A living body that feels alien and out of tune remains isolated from its environment, not at rest within itself. Thousands of years of hierarchical vision have distorted and disoriented the naked human being, but also offer an opportunity to reinvent it: 

 

Almost all of the works are populated by hairless figures whose appearance seems human, but which steer clear of fidelity to reality. Genderless or hybrid, the head-heavy beings meander, sometimes standing, sometimes lying, across the cool and smooth surfaces. Some figures interact with each other, sitting skin to skin. A loner crouches completely still in the empty pictorial space and looks directly at us. Other figures have dissolved into patterns of disembodied limbs. Contrary to the ornamental flow, some figures still seem unsure of their direction in the stream of body parts.

 

"How do I compose myself, how am I composed of?" is how Frese describes his starting position. What constitutes the contemporary individual and what part do environment and cultural history play in our constitution in the present? This approach is probably most clearly expressed in the body construction kits (Körperbaukästen). Their limbs do not assemble in a medically correct way. Rather, the cohesion is loose. Their bodies are, except for the delicate wires, segmented into many parts. The installation on the wall also gives the body construction kits a ghostly mobility, resting weightlessly in space. If one were to separate their individual limbs and reassemble them, new variations of bodies would constantly emerge, always made of the same parts, only constructed differently. Correct' proportions and fleshly charms play no role in this.

 

With his antiquating vessel forms and stylised paintings, Witalij Frese consciously draws on the visual memory of the symbolic and pictorial world of antiquity. The ancient form of the relief is often found, for example, in saints' shrines and tombs of the Roman Empire. Mostly, the depictions refer to mythological narratives and topoi, full of signs and symbolic bodies. Such handmade reliefs, ceramics or grave slabs are also in the tradition of social rites associated with bodily actions. The political body, the sacred body, the sexualised body: they are all subject to social moralisation and regulation. The sinuous serpent in particular looks back on centuries of iconographic change: from its place on the staff of the healing god Asclepius, to original sin, to the idealised serpentine line in painting.

 

Thus, when Vitalij Frese infuses his bodily vessels with mythological symbols and forms, he not only invokes ancient iconographic interpretations, but also enriches his depictions with the context of his own bodily questions. Carefully and sparingly, Frese thus transfers classical attributes into an expanded interpretative context. Exposed skin has always offered a projection and attack surface for cultural, political and religious agendas. Frese confronts this historical gravity with his earthen body shells without forcing their classification: neither as a motif nor as a gender. Fragile and smooth, the ceramics want to be carefully filled – with meaning without dogma, with all that animates them.

Exhibition

May 20, 2022 - July 20, 2022

Türkenstr. 32, 80335 Munich

WITALIJ FRESE
CONNECT AND DISCONNECT

20.05.2022 - 15.07.2022

In der ersten Ausstellung, die sich allein seinen Keramiken widmet, zeigt Witalij Frese (*1992 Alexandrowka, Russland) den menschlichen Körper als fluide, mythische und immerzu suchende Ganzheit. Zwischen Verletzlichkeit und unverblümtem Realismus changieren die schwarz-weißen Gefäße, Reliefs und Körperbaukästen – mit Draht verbundene keramische Wesen, deren Skelett aus einzelnen Fragmenten zusammengesetzt ist. In seinen Werken beschäftigt Frese die Suche nach der Bedeutung körperlichen Daseins und der Wunsch sich immer neu auszudrücken. So nähert sich der Künstler dem Körper häufig über seine Einzelteile. In seinen Werken zersetzt und überwindet, formt und konfiguriert er den menschlichen Organismus nach unterschiedlichsten Empfindungen. Hybrid und explizit sind seine Versionen von Körperhüllen, die an die griechische und römische Keramik der Antike erinnern.

 

In direkter Konfrontation mit weiblichen und männlichen Geschlechtsmerkmalen entstehen sensible Kompositionen aus skulpturalen und ornamentalen Elementen, vereint durch die Hand des Künstlers. Während die Penishenkel und der Vulvafries eindeutig auf eine altbekannte Geschlechterordnung verweisen, sind die Übergänge innerhalb der Gefäße fließend. Es herrscht ein stetes Wechselspiel männlicher und weiblicher Attribute. 

 

Für Frese stellen Penis und Vulva auch Ankerpunkte für Themenkomplexe, wie Scham und dem Streben nach einer Überwindung der historischen Geschlechterordnung dar, weil sie eng mit traditionellen Rollenbildern verknüpft sind. Die persönliche Einordnung durch bestimmte Körpermerkmale kann außerdem entscheidend für die Selbstwahrnehmung und Identität sein. Vor allem, wenn das Bedürfnis nach körperlicher Zugehörigkeit ein Faktor für gesellschaftliche Zugehörigkeit ist. Sich seinem eigenen Körper nicht verbunden fühlen stört und beschwert die Seele. Ein lebender Körper, der sich fremd und unstimmig anfühlt, bleibt von seiner Umwelt isoliert, ruht nicht in sich. Tausende Jahre hierarchischen Sehens haben den nackten Menschen verzerrt und desorientiert, bieten aber auch eine Chance ihn neu zu erfinden: 

 

Fast alle Werke sind von haarlosen Figuren bevölkert, deren Aussehen menschlich anmutet, sich jedoch von Wirklichkeitstreue frei macht. Geschlechtslos oder hybrid, mäandern die kopfschweren Wesen, mal stehend, mal liegend über die kühlen und glatten Oberflächen. Einige Figuren interagieren miteinander, sitzen Haut an Haut. Ein Einzelgänger hockt völlig still im leeren Bildraum und blickt uns direkt an, andere Figuren haben sich in Muster aus körperlosen Gliedmaßen zu aufgelöst. Entgegen des ornamentalen Flows scheinen manche Figuren sich noch unsicher über ihre Richtung im Strom der Körperteile.

 

„Wie setze ich mich zusammen, wie werde ich zusammengesetzt?“ beschreibt Frese seine Ausgangsposition. Was macht das zeitgenössische Individuum aus und welchen Anteil haben Umwelt und Kulturgeschichte an unserer Konstitution in der Gegenwart? Am deutlichsten äußert sich diese Herangehensweise wohl in den Körperbaukästen. Ihre Glieder setzen sich nicht medizinisch korrekt zusammen. Vielmehr ist der Zusammenhalt lose. Ihr Körper, bis auf die zarten Drähte, ein vielfach unterbrochener. Durch die Installation an der Wand erhalten die Körperbaukästen außerdem eine geisterhafte Beweglichkeit und ruhen schwerelos im Raum. Würde man ihre einzelnen Gliedmaßen trennen und neu zusammensetzen, ergäben sich laufend neue Körpervariationen, immer aus denselben teilen, nur unterschiedlich konstruiert. ‚Richtige‘ Proportionen und fleischliche Reize spielen dabei keine Rolle.

 

Mit seinen antikisierenden Gefäßformen und stilisierten Bemalungen schöpft Witalij Frese bewusst aus dem visuellen Gedächtnis der Symbol- und Bilderwelt des Altertums. Die antike Form des Reliefs findet sich beispielsweise oftmals in Heiligen- und Grabstätten des römischen Reiches. Meist rekurrieren die Darstellungen auf mythologischen Erzählungen und Topoi, voller Zeichen und Symbolkörper. Solche handgefertigten Reliefs, Keramiken oder Grabplatten stehen auch in der Tradition gesellschaftlicher Riten, die mit körperlichen Handlungen verbunden sind. Der politische Körper, der heilige Körper, der sexualisierte Körper: sie alle unterliegen gesellschaftlicher Moralisierung und Regulierung. Besonders der gewundene Serpent blickt auf Jahrhunderte ikonografischen Wandels zurück: von seinem Platz am Stab des heilenden Gottes Asklepios, über die Erbsünde, bis zur idealisierten Serpentinenlinie in der Malerei.

 

Wenn Witalij Frese seine Körpergefäße also mit mythologischen Symbolen und Formen bedenkt, beschwört er nicht nur alte, ikonographischen Deutungen, sondern reichert seine Darstellungen um den Kontext eigener Körperfragen an. Bedächtig und sparsam überführt Frese damit klassische Attribute in einen erweiterten Deutungszusammenhang. Entblößte Haut bietet seit jeher eine Projektions- und Angriffsfläche für kulturelle, politische und religiöse Agenden. Dieser historischen Schwere, stellt Frese seine irdenen Körperhüllen entgegen, ohne deren Einordnung zu erzwingen: weder als Motiv noch als Geschlecht. Zerbrechlich und glatt wollen die Keramiken vorsichtig befüllt werden –– mit Sinn ohne Dogma, mit all dem das sie beseelt.

Ausstellung

20. Mai 2022 - 15. Juli 2022

Türkenstr. 32, 80333 München