RAPHAEL ADJETEY ADJEI MAYNE
I WANT TO BE LIKE YOU WHEN I GROW UP

September 09, 2022 - October 28, 2022

Raphael Adjetey Adjei Mayne was born in 1983 in Accra, Ghana (West Africa), where he discovered his passion for painting already in his childhood. Now living in Germany, the artist combines in his multi-layered mixed media works colourful portraits with the rich symbolic world of Ghanaian Adinkra. The latter is the term for the symbolic language used in Côte d'Ivoire and Ghana. Often referred to as wax prints, those cotton fabrics are printed with patterns or symbols in a particular process. The elaborate motifs – alone or in combination – each refer to different attributes and characteristics. But more than that, the Adrinka symbols have philosophical aspirations and thus express also deeper truths and aphorisms. For instance, the heart (akoma) stands for patience and tolerance, the fern (aya) for perseverance and resourcefulness. Two arrows connected by a circle – "Help me and let me help you" (boa me na me mmoa wo) – stand for cooperation as well as for interdependence. 

 

In its cultural significance, the Adinkra extends into Ghana's current imagery and day-to-day life, with small regional differences. From wall symbols on buildings, to clothing, to company logos, Adinkra symbols have become an integral part of everyday Ghanaian life over centuries.

 

Mayne's very personal connection to the colourful printed fabrics stems from his childhood. He clearly remembers how his mother used to tailor her own clothes from wax print fabrics and often made a matching garment for one of the children from leftover fabric. Either his figures wear Adinkra fabrics themselves, or the textiles form a colourful background ­– a timeless ground for his motifs. Followingly, Raphael Adjetey Adjei Mayne not only combines painting and textiles in his portraits, but also interweaves personal experiences and encounters from his own life in his works. In this process, intuitive atmospheric images emerge, full of private and political moments that draw from history as well from the present. 

 

Capturing all the details, Mayne meticulously sketches his figures – especially the clothing of the portrait subject. In his ongoing Faceless series, however, he omits a detailed rendering of facial features and the face in general. Mayne does not intent to anonymise people, but he seeks to direct the viewer's focus on body language and pose. When the artist reduces the portraits and brings them down to a flat, almost stylising level, he attempts to stimulate an important thought process: Who is the person in front of me? Is she/he happy, serious, surprised, curious? Can I put myself in the other person's shoes? With this approach the artist pursues his images, that is, the faces and individuals behind them, instead of just simply reproducing them.

 

The artist invites the viewer to think about the depicted person: "Not just look at them but look into them", Mayne explains.

 

An important insight about the covering of faces is the potential of unveiling something that gets notices only at a second glance: What makes this person an individual, what makes this person special?

The bodies on Mayne’s canvases seem relaxed and familiar with each other. Placed in the middle of the canvas and often in mere space, the depicted faceless figures confront us without being disrupted by our gaze. It is not a confrontation between the depicted and the viewer, but a friendly approach. 

 

An important part of Mayne's practice begins already in direct contact and in conversations with people. He encounters them in his neighbourhood and on the streets, or he paints his family members. Particularly close to his heart is the interaction with children, for whom he has founded the Afutumix Foundation in his home country. "I want to be like you when I grow up," is what the children often say to him. 

 

Some of Mayne’s portraits got also a political commentary attached to them, especially targeted towards racism. Green Gloves (Self Portrait) (2021) is a self-portrait of the artist wearing boxing gloves. But he also paints well-known people, such as the US Secretary of State, Kamala Harris (2021) and the young poet, writer and activist Amanda Gorman (2021). However, by combining African prints with Western patterns, Manye then conciliates both. For example, some figures wear African trousers combined with a typical Western top. Two different pictorial traditions, two socio-cultural materials that the artist literally fuses together.

 

Raphael Adjetey Adjei Mayne studied painting at the Ghanatta College of Arts and Design, which he attended together with Amoako Boafo, one of the most internationally sought-after artists of today. His works are exhibited at international art fairs including AKAA Paris, Investec Cape Town Art Fair, 1-54 African Art Fair New York, Art On Paper New York and Sydney Contemporary. His works are in the MuCEM Collections, in Marseille and in the Harvard University Collection in Boston.

 

RAPHAEL ADJETEY ADJEY MAYNE - I WANT TO BE LIKE YOU WHEN I GROW UP

9 September - 28 October 2022

RAPHAEL ADJETEY ADJEI MAYNE
I WANT TO BE LIKE YOU WHEN I GROW UP

09.09.2022 - 28.10.2022

Raphael Adjetey Adjei Mayne wurde 1983 in Accra, Ghana (Westafrika) geboren, wo er bereits in seiner Kindheit die Leidenschaft für das Malen entdeckte. In seinen vielschichtigen Mixed Media-Werken verbindet der heute in Deutschland lebende Künstler farbintensiven Porträtmalerei mit der reichen Symbolwelt der ghanaischen Adinkra, welche die Bezeichnung für die in der Elfenbeinküste und in Ghana verwendeten Symbolsprache ist: Oft auch als wax prints bezeichnet, werden dabei Baumwollstoffe in einem speziellen Verfahren mit Mustern oder Symbolen bedruckt. Die elaborierten Motive verweisen – allein oder in Kombination –auf verschiedene Eigenschaften und Merkmale. Aber auch tieferliegende Wahrheiten und Aphorismen können in der Adinkra ausgedrückt werden, denn in ihr liegt ein philosophischer Anspruch. So steht das Herz (akoma) für Geduld und Toleranz, der Farn (aya) für Ausdauer und Einfallsreichtum; zwei durch einen Kreis verbundene Pfeile (boa me na me mmoa wo, „Hilf mir und lass mich Dir helfen“) stehen gleichsam für Zusammenarbeit und Interdependenz.

 

In ihrer kulturellen Bedeutung erstreckt sich die Adinkra als Kontinuum bis in die gegenwärtige Bilderwelt und Lebensrealität Ghanas, mit kleinen regionalen Unterschieden. Von Wandsymbolen auf Gebäuden über Kleidung bis hin zu Firmenlogos sind Adinkra-Symbole über Jahrhunderte zum festen Bestandteil des ghanaischen Alltags geworden.

 

Maynes ganz persönlicher Bezug zu den bunt bedruckten Stoffen festigte sich seiner Kindheit. Er erinnerte sich daran, wie seine Mutter ihre eigenen Kleider aus wax print- Stoffen schneiderte und aus übrigem Stoff oftmals ein passendes Kleidungsstück für eines der Kinder fertigte.

Entweder tragen die Figuren in seinen Arbeiten selbst Adinkra-Stoffe oder die Textilien bilden einen farbintensiven Hintergrund, einen zeitlosen Boden für seine Motive. Raphael Adjetey Adjei Mayne kombiniert in seinen Porträts somit nicht nur Malerei und Textil, sondern verwebt auch persönliche Erfahrungen, Prägungen und Begegnungen aus seinem Leben mit den Werken. Dabei entstehen intuitive Stimmungsbilder, voller privater und politischer Momente, die zugleich aus Geschichte und Gegenwart schöpfen. 

 

Auf Basis von digitalen Fotografien arbeitet Mayne seine Figurationen aus und zeichnet akribisch vor, erfasst dabei alle Details – besonders die Kleidung der Porträtierten. In seiner fortlaufenden Faceless-Serie verzichtet er jedoch auf eine detaillierte Wiedergabe von Gesichtern. Dies tut Mayne nicht um die Menschen zu anonymisieren, vielmehr ist es ihm ein Anliegen den Fokus der Betrachtenden auf Körpersprache und Pose zu richten. Während der Künstler die Porträts damit reduziert und sie auf eine flache, beinahe stilisierende Ebene bringt, sucht er ganz bewusst einen Denkvorgang bei den Betrachtenden anzuregen – Projektion anstelle von Exposition. Wer ist die Person vor mir? Ist sie glücklich, ernst, überrascht, neugierig? Kann man sich in das Gegenüber hineinversetzen? Mit dieser Herangehensweise geht er seinen Bildern, das heißt den Gesichtern und Individuen dahinter, nach anstelle sie nur zu reproduzieren – sie aufzuführen. 

 

Man soll über die Portraitierten nachdenken: „Not just look at them but look into them”, erklärt Mayne.

 

Eine wichtige Erkenntnis über das Auflösen von Gesichtern ist das Potential etwas zum Vorschein zu bringen, das sich erst auf den zweiten Blick offenbart: Was macht diesen Menschen zum Individuum, was macht diesen Menschen aus? Die Körper auf den Leinwänden des Künstlers wirken entspannt und vertraut miteinander. Umstandslos und zentral begegnen sie uns im Raum, gesichtslos; ungestört von unserem Blick. Es ist keine Gegenüberstellung, sondern ein Kennenlernen.

 

Die Genese von Maynes Werken beginnt aber bereits im direkten Kontakt und in den Gesprächen mit den Menschen. Er trifft sie in der Nachbarschaft, auf der Straße, oder malt auch Familienmitglieder. Besonders der Austausch mit Kindern liegt ihm sehr am Herzen, für die er sich in seiner Heimat mit der Afutumix Foundation engagiert. „Ich will so sein wie Du, wenn ich groß bin“ sagen die Kinder dann oft zu ihm. 

 

Unmissverständlich offenbaren sich viele Porträts jedoch auch als politischer Kommentar, besonders in Bezug auf Rassismus. Green Gloves (Self Portrait) (2021) ist ein Selbstporträt des Künstlers mit Boxhandschuhen, aber auch bekannte Persönlichkeiten, wie die US-amerikanischen Außenministerin, Kamala Harris (2021) und die junge Lyrikerin, Schriftstellerin und Aktivistin Amanda Gorman (2021) sind unter den Porträtierten. Versöhnliche Töne schlägt Mayne jedoch an, indem er die afrikanischen Prints mit westlichen Mustern vereint. So tragen manche Figuren eine afrikanische Hose, kombiniert mit einem typisch westlichen Oberteil – zwei unterschiedliche Bildtraditionen, zwei sozio-kulturelle Stoffe, die der Künstler buchstäblich miteinander fusioniert. 

 

Raphael Adjetey Adjei Mayne studierte Malerei am Ghanatta College of Arts and Design, das er gemeinsam mit Amoako Boafo, einem der international gefragtesten Künstler der Zeit, besuchte. Seine Werke werden auf internationalen Kunstmessen ausgestellt, darunter AKAA Paris, Investec Cape Town Art Fair, 1-54 African Art Fair New York, Art On Paper New York und Sydney Contemporary. Einige seiner Werke sind im Besitz und den MuCEM Collections, in Marseille, und der Harvard University, Boston.

 

 

RAPHAEL ADJETEY ADJEY MAYNE - I WANT TO BE LIKE YOU WHEN I GROW UP

9. September - 28. Oktober 2022