TIBOR POGONYI
STATICS OF THE MOMENT

October 23 - November 26, 2020

Along the border between wonderful self-oblivion and alienation, Tibor Pogonyi develops his naturalistic paintings. His interest lies in the everlasting question of our relationship with our own “self”, with our fellow human beings and with nature. The contradictions, dissonances and helplessness that inevitably accompany our search for answers are captured by Tibor in his paintings. His precisely composed sceneries appear to us like snapshots taken from the flow of time – familiar and, at the same time, puzzling. And yet, in the form of the omnipresent non-finito, they carry within them traces of the ephemeral and the transient.

 

Works such as Mauer (“Wall”, 2020) are nothing less than exemplary for Pogonyi’s provoked mysteriousness and the complex game he plays with temporality. In this way, the seemingly banal “scene” in Mauer turns out, on closer examination, to be a vanitas. The youth of the self-engrossed male figure in the center contrasts with the age of the man sitting on top of the wall. Reverently, almost melodramatically, this man lays his hand on the shoulder of the young man as a symbolic connection between youth and age. The foreground and background also form a contrast with respect to mortality. While the background is dominated by a bush in full bloom, the shadows of fall branches, the majority already without leaves, are apparent in the foreground. The completely shrouded, mysterious figures who flank the old man on top of the wall remain obscure. With the figure in the blue drapery, Pogonyi mirrors the “laying on of hands”, but leaves the viewer unclear about the “relationship” of the shrouded figure to the others.

 

An antithesis to the symbolically charged works in the exhibition is provided by Köpfe VI (“Heads VI”, 2020) – a direct confrontation with the human tragedy that is currently taking place in front of the eyes of the world from the numerous people driven to flee their countries. Fear, despair, accusation, but also hope, pride and dignity, are expressed by the faces of those portrayed in this painting. With the unusual format, Pogonyi succeeds in creating both an ambient and a psychological density. In contrast to the media images of people fleeing, which easily allow us to keep our distance, the viewer comes extremely close to those depicted. The history of every individual figure in this painting seems to be familiar to the viewer. One of the reasons the artist succeeds in this is the compositional arrangement. With the figure looking directly at the viewer in the center, the picture is subtly reminiscent of the depiction of the Last Supper.

 

Tibor Pogonyi (*1974 in Eger, Hungary) studied painting with Prof. Fridhelm Klein and Prof. Anke Doberauer at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich. Humankind as the alleged “crown of creation” is always a recurring theme in his oeuvre. Pogonyi’s works are exhibited in Europe and Asia, and can also be found in institutional collections, such as Diözesanmuseum Freising.

Exhibition

23.10. - 26.11.2020

Türkenstr. 32, 80335 Munich

© 2020 by HELDENREIZER Contemporary GmbH, Munich . Imprint

TIBOR POGONYI

STATIK DES AUGENBLICKS

23.10. - 26.11.2020

Entlang der Grenze zwischen schöner Selbstvergessenheit und Entfremdung entwickelt Tibor Pogonyi seine naturalistischen Gemälde. Sein Interesse gilt dabei der immerwährenden Frage nach unserem Verhältnis zum eigenen Selbst, zu unseren Mitmenschen und zur Natur. Die Widersprüchlichkeiten, die Dissonanzen und die Ratlosigkeit, die unsere Suche nach Antworten zwangsläufig begleiten, fängt Tibor in seinen Gemälden ein. Seine präzise durchkomponierten Szenerien erscheinen uns wie dem Fluss der Zeit enthobene Momentaufnahmen – vertraut und rätselhaft zugleich. Und doch tragen sie in Form des allgegenwärtigen Non-finito Spuren des Ephemeren und des Sich-Verflüchtigenden in sich.

 

Werke wie Mauer (2020) sind für Pogonyis provozierte Rätselhaftigkeit und komplexes Spiel mit der Zeitlichkeit geradezu beispielhaft. So entpuppt sich die scheinbar banale „Szene“ in Mauer bei genauerer Betrachtung als Vanitas. Der Jugend der in sich versunkenen, männlichen Gestalt im Zentrum steht das Alter des auf dem Mauersims sitzenden Mannes gegenüber. Andächtig, nahezu pathetisch legt dieser dem jungen Mann die Hand auf die Schulter, als symbolhafte Verbindung von Jugend und Alter. Auch Vorder- und Hintergrund bilden im Hinblick auf die Vergänglichkeit einen Kontrast. Ist der Hintergrund durch einen in voller Blüte stehenden Strauch bestimmt, zeichnen sich im Vordergrund die Schatten herbstlicher, zum Großteil bereits blätterloser Äste ab. Rätselhaft bleiben die gänzlich verhüllten, geheimnisvollen Gestalten, die den alten Mann auf dem Gesims flankieren. Pogonyi spiegelt durch die Figur in der blauen Draperie die „Handauflegung“, lässt jedoch den Betrachter über das „Verhältnis“ der verhüllten Gestalt zu den anderen Figuren im Unklaren.

 

Einen Gegenpol zu den symbolhaft aufgeladenen Arbeiten bildet in der Ausstellung die Arbeit Köpfe VI (2020) -eine unmittelbare Konfrontation mit der menschlichen Tragödie, die sich derzeit vor den Augen der Welt durch die zahlreichen in die Flucht getriebenen Menschen ereignet. Angst, Verzweiflung, Anklage, aber auch Hoffnung, Stolz und Würde spricht aus den Gesichtern der in diesem Gemälde Porträtierten. Durch das ungewöhnliche Format gelingt Pogonyi eine atmosphärische wie auch psychologische Verdichtung. Im Gegensatz zu den Pressefotos der flüchtenden Menschen, die uns leicht den Abstand wahren lassen, kommt der Betrachter den Dargestellten hier extrem nahe. Die Geschichte jeder einzelnen Figur in diesem Bild scheint dem Betrachter gewahr zu werden. Dies gelingt Tibor mitunter durch kompositorische Anordnung, die mit der in der Bildmitte arrangierten, den Betrachter direkt anblickenden Figur unterschwellig an eine Abendmahl-Darstellung erinnert.

 

Tibor Pogonyi (*1974 in Eger) studierte Malerei bei Prof. Fridhelm Klein und Prof. Anke Doberauer an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München. Der Mensch als vermeintliche Krone der Schöpfung bildet ein immer wiederkehrendes Thema in sein Œuvre. Pogoynis Arbeiten werden in Europa und Asien ausgestellt und finden sich auch in institutionellen Sammlungen wie dem Diözesanmuseum Freising.

Ausstellung

23. Oktober - 26. November 2020

Türkenstr. 32, 80333 München

© 2020 by HELDENREIZER Contemporary GmbH, München . Impressum