Seite_12_Streifen.jpg

Sebastian Maas

Collage-like, Sebastian Maas takes concrete motifs, ornaments and formal specifics out of the canonical masterpieces of different epochs as well as from the contemporary consumer and commodity world, combines them with each other and uses them like mosaic pieces within his own composition, thus constituting a new meaning and visual impression.

 

Contrast, as a distinct and powerful phenomenon of esthetic intuition, is a decisive moment in the new works of Sebastian Maas. In addition to formal aspects, Maas is above all concerned with an esthetically oriented act of self-reassurance, expressed in the intensity of inner contrasts that can be directly experienced. Significant for the artist in this context is the constant compulsion requiring us to always align our inside world very strongly to new impulses. At a highly emotional time like this, extreme contrasts emerge. […] It is exactly these contrasts, and their high intensity, that interest me, and I consider them worthy of depiction (Sebastian Maas, 2020).

 

His complex works invite the viewer to take part in the highly intellectual play, in the search for analogies and references, to interpreting artists, works, colors and styles in inter-relation to each other and thus to sharpen their own eye for the originals.

Exhibitions at HELDENREIZER 

  • 2020 - "ZEITZEUGEN", 29.05. - 03.07.2020 in München

  • 2019 - "ANGST", 21. - 23.02.2019 in München

  • 2018 - "UNKLASSISCH", 22. - 24.02.2018 in München

Further Exhibitions (Selection)

  • 2017 - "Boxenstop", group exhibition, Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich

  • 2015 - Group exhibition, Braun Falco Galerie, Munich

  • 2015 - Accompanying group exhibition for "Mit Leib und Seele", Kunsthalle München, Munich

Vita

  • Born 1984 in Aachen

  • Lives and works in Munich

  • 2004 - 2007 Biology studies at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich

  • 2007 - 2010 Neuroscience studies at the Ludwig-Maximillians-Universität, Munich

  • since 2013 Painting and Graphics studies with Professor Anke Doberauer and Professor Karin Kneffel at the Academy of Fine Arts, Munich

Publications

  • 2019 - Marcus Trautner (ed.): ANGST - Alessandro Bostelmann, Andreana Dobreva, Sebastian Gallschütz, Sebastian Maas, Tom Messavilla, Tibor Pogonyi, Eunji Seo, Yuhao Chen, Heldenreizer Contemporary 2019, ISBN 978-3-9819524-3-8

  • 2018 - Marcus Trautner (ed.): UNKLASSISCH - Andreana Dobreva, Sebastian Maas, Christian Sedelmayer, Heldenreizer Junge Kunst München 2018, ISBN 978-3-9819524-0-7

  • 2017 - Michael Hering, Gesa Puell (ed.): Boxenstop I, Staatliche Graphische Sammlung München 2017, ISBN 978-3-927803-49-7

© 2019 by HELDENREIZER Contemporary GmbH, Munich . Imprint

Seite_12_Streifen.jpg

Sebastian Maas

Collagenartig greift Sebastian Maas aus den kanonischen Meisterwerken unterschiedlicher Epochen sowie aus der gegenwärtigen Konsum- und Warenwelt, konkrete Motive, Ornamente und formale Spezifika heraus, kombiniert sie miteinander und setzt sie wie Mosaikstücke im Rahmen seiner eigenen Bildkomposition ein, wodurch er einen neuartigen Sinnzusammenhang und Seheindruck konstituiert.

 

Der Kontrast als eigenständiges wie wirkmächtiges Phänomen ästhetischer Anschauung bildet dabei in den Arbeiten von Sebastian Maas ein entscheidendes Moment. Neben formalen Aspekten geht es Maas dabei vor allem um einen ästhetisch geprägten Akt der Selbstvergewisserung, der in der Intensität unmittelbar erfahrbarer, innerer Kontraste zum Ausdruck kommt. Bezeichnend ist für den Künstler in diesem Zusammenhang der fortwährende Drang unsere Innenwelt immer besonders stark an neuen Impulsen abgleichen zu müssen. In einer hochemotionalen Zeit wie dieser treten dabei extreme Kontraste hervor. […] Genau diese Kontraste wie auch deren hohe Intensität interessieren mich und ich halte sie für abbildungswürdig (Sebastian Maas, 2020).

 

Seine komplexen Werke laden den Betrachter ein, sich an dem hochintellektuellen Spiel zu beteiligen, auf der Suche nach Analogien und Verweisen, Künstler, Werke, Farben und Stile interpretierend zueinander in Bezug zu setzen und so das eigene Auge für die Originale zu schärfen.

Ausstellungen bei HELDENREIZER 

  • 2020 - "ZEITZEUGEN", 29.05. - 03.07.2020 in München

  • 2019 - "ANGST", 21. - 23.02.2019 in München

  • 2018 - "UNKLASSISCH", 22. - 24.02.2018 in München

Weitere Ausstellungen (Auswahl)

  • 2017 - "Boxenstop", Gruppenausstellung, Pinakothek der Moderne in München

  • 2015 - Gruppenausstellung, Braun Falco Galerie in München

  • 2015 - Begleitende Gruppenausstellung zu "Mit Leib und Seele", Kunsthalle München in München

Vita

  • Geb. 1984 in Aachen

  • Lebt und arbeitet in München

  • 2004 - 2007 Studium der Biologie, Ludwig-Maximillians-Universität München

  • 2007 - 2010 Studium der Neurowissenschaft, Ludwig-Maximillians-Universität München

  • seit 2013 Studium der Malerei und Grafik, Klasse Karin Kneffel, Akademie der Bildenden Künste München

Publikationen

  • 2019 - Marcus Trautner (Hg.): ANGST - Alessandro Bostelmann, Andreana Dobreva, Sebastian Gallschütz, Sebastian Maas, Tom Messavilla, Tibor Pogonyi, Eunji Seo, Yuhao Chen, Heldenreizer Contemporary 2019, ISBN 978-3-9819524-3-8

  • 2018 - Marcus Trautner (Hg.): UNKLASSISCH - Andreana Dobreva, Sebastian Maas, Christian Sedelmayer, Heldenreizer Junge Kunst München 2018, ISBN 978-3-9819524-0-7

  • 2017 - Michael Hering, Gesa Puell (Hg.): Boxenstop I, Staatliche Graphische Sammlung München 2017, ISBN 978-3-927803-49-7

© 2019 by HELDENREIZER Contemporary GmbH, München . Impressum