Martin WERTHMANN

Martin Werthmann (*1982) is one of the most prominent artists of his generation worldwide to devote themselves to the genre of woodblock printing. His monumental colour woodblock prints on vast lengths of paper are captivating in their radically new use of forms as well as an aesthetic that puts the vague and the diffuse centre stage. Intuitively linked to this is the key question of space, which plays a significant role in the artist’s oeuvre. 

 

It is not the “classic” space created for perspective that is emphasised, but rather space as a sensuous experience in which human existence in all its facets finds expression. Werthmann sees his awe-inspiring woodblock prints as precisely constructed “spaces with no tangible contents”, which allow the viewer an array of meaningful, sensuous experiences and thus bring to mind their own humanity. Accordingly, he sees his prints less as pictures and more as installations, which constitute a genuine experience space into which the viewer is drawn deeper and deeper.

 

Werthmann’s actual SILENCE series embodies this claim almost as a paradigm. It seems virtually impossible to escape the pull of these powerful, polychrome woodblock prints. The meticulously organised interplay between colour and form leaves the assumed subject or narrative of the picture perpetually vague. Rather, everything is constantly reforming with the persistent flow of one’s own chains of associations. The potentially identified disintegrates in the next moment, to instantly reappear in a new form and context: Landscapes become specimen slides with cell samples, shadowy figures rise from ornamental structures, and liquids solidify into hard matter.

Exhibitions at HELDENREIZER

  • 2020 - "Martin Werthmann - The Catastrophe as Space", 04.12.2020 - 31.01.2021 in Munich

  • 2019 - "Martin Werthmann - SILENCE", 12. - 14.09.2019 in Munich

Vita

  • Born 1982 in Gießen

  • Based in Berlin

  • 2004-2009 Studies of Fine Arts at the Academy of Fine Arts, Hamburg

Publications

  • 2019 - Marcus Trautner (ed.): SILENCE - Martin Werthmann, Heldenreizer Contemporary 2019

Martin WERTHMANN

Martin Werthmann (*1982) gehört in seiner Generation weltweit zu den profiliertesten Künstlern, die sich intensiv mit der Gattung des Holzschnitts auseinandersetzen. Seine monumentalen, auf großen Papierbahnen ausgeführten Farbholzschnitte bestechen durch eine radikal neue Formensprache sowie eine Ästhetik, die das Vage und Diffuse ins Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit rückt. Daran unmittelbar angeknüpft ist die zentrale Frage des Raums, die im OEuvre des Künstlers eine bedeutende Rolle einnimmt.

Dabei steht nicht der „klassische“, perspektivisch angelegte Raum im Vordergrund, sondern der Raum als sensuelles Erlebnis, in dem das menschliche Dasein in all seinen Facetten zum Ausdruck kommt. Seine monumentalen Holzschnitte begreift er als präzise konstruierte „Räume ohne konkrete Inhalte“, die dem Betrach ter ein Spektrum an sinnstiftenden, sinnlichen Erfahrungen ermöglichen und so das eigene Menschsein vergegenwärtigen. Entsprechend versteht Werthmann seine Holzschnitte weniger als Bilder, denn als Installationen, die einen genuinen Erlebnisraum konstituieren, in den der Betrachter immer tiefer hineingezogen wird. 

 

Werthmanns aktuelle Werkserie SILENCE verkörpert diesen Anspruch geradezu paradigmatisch. Sich der Sogwirkung dieser gewaltigen, polychromen Holzschnitte zu entziehen, erscheint nahezu unmöglich. Das minutiös organisierte Wechselspiel zwischen Farbe und Form lässt den vermeintlichen Bildgegenstand oder das Bildgeschehen fortwährend im Vagen. Vielmehr formiert sich im permanenten Lauf der eigenen Assoziationsketten alles immerzu neu. Vermeintlich Erkanntes zerfällt bereits im nächsten Augenblick, um sogleich in einer neuen Form und einem neuen Sinnzusammenhang aufzugehen: Landschaften werden zu Objektträgern mit Zellproben, aus ornamentalen Strukturen entsteigen schemenhaft Figuren und Flüssiges erstarrt zu fester Materie.

Ausstellungen bei HELDENREIZER

  • 2020 - "Martin Werthmann - Die Katastrophe als Raum", 04.12.2020 - 31.01.2021 in München

  • 2019 - "Martin Werthmann - SILENCE", 12. - 14.09.2019 in München

Vita

  • Geb. 1982 in Gießen

  • Lebt und arbeitet in Berlin

  • 2004-2009 Studium der Bildenden Künste, Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg

Publikationen

  • 2021 - Marcus Trautner (Hg.): Martin Werthmann – CATASTROPHE AS SPACE, Hirmer Verlag, München 2021.

  • 2019 - Marcus Trautner (Hg.): SILENCE - Martin Werthmann, Heldenreizer Contemporary, München 2019