ANGELA ANZI
AIAIA

July 01, 2020 - August 01, 2021

AIAIA (2021) - the onomatopoeic title of the new work by Angela Anzi (*1981 in Lucerne) goes back to Greek mythology and stands for a mythical place: the wooded island of the sorceress Kirke. In its onomatopoeic quality and formal characteristics, it anticipates what Anzi wishes to explore in her installation with performance: the multimodally organised interaction between image, object, performance and sound. Through sound, noise and human interaction, multiple transformations take place during the performance act. Objects per se change, relationships and relations appear in a new light, one's own perception becomes part of the artist’s work.

 

Massive, sometimes larger-than-life wooden, ceramic and aluminium objects attached to ceilings and walls, silver foil, fabrics, coloured chalk and graphite on paper. With diverse materials, the artist develops sculptural landscapes, and scenes, a fictitious archaeological site in AIAIA so to say – a panorama of past histories and seemingly long extinct actions. The installation as well as the objects are characterised by non-referential forms and draw all their power from the indefinable as well as the mysterious. 

 

Through sound, movement, touch and noise, Anzi provokes material and medial transformations in her performance; the objects merge with each other, begin to interact, constituting their own microcosm of new conditions and forms of being. A new ephemeral world full of atmospheric twists and turns, carried by fleeting beauty, oppressive moments and perceptual-aesthetic intensity, rises for the viewer from the place of past events.

 

Angela Anzi studied at University of Fine Arts in Hamburg and at Goldsmith University in London, specialising in time-related media. Parallel to the exhibition AIAIA, her impressive installation Assistance to Objects 2 (2015 / 2017 / 2021) is displayed in the exhibition OUT OF SPACE at the Hamburger Kunsthalle. Previously, her work has been shown at the Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts in Taipei, the Accademia Albertina in Turin, the Deichtorhallen (Falckenberg Collection) in Hamburg and the Aargauer Kunsthaus, among others.

 

Performances:

 

15 July at 7:30 pm 

16 July at 6:30 pm

17 July at 6:30 pm 

18 July at 6:30 pm

31 July at 5:00 pm – Closing event

 

The number of visitors for each performance is limited. We kindly ask you to register.

ANGELA ANZI
AIAIA   

01.07.2021 - 01.08.2021

AIAIA (2021) – der lautmalerische Titel der neuen Arbeit von Angela Anzi (*1981 in Luzern) geht auf die griechische Mythologie zurück und steht für einen mythischen Ort: die bewaldete Insel der Zauberin Kirke. In seiner lautmalerischen Qualität und seinen formalen Eigenschaften nimmt er vorweg, was Anzi in ihrer Installation mit Performance zu ergründen versucht: die multimodal organisierte Wechselwirkung zwischen Bild, Objekt, Performance und Klang. Durch Klang, Geräusch und menschliche Einflussnahme vollzieht sich während der Performance eine mehrfache Wandlung. Objekte per se verändern sich, Beziehungen und Verhältnisse erscheinen im neuen Licht, die eigene Wahrnehmung wird zum Gegenstand.

 

Massive, teils überlebensgroße an Decken und Wänden angebrachte Holz-, Keramik- und Aluminiumobjekte, Silberfolie, Stoffe, Farbkreide und Graphit auf Papier. Mit vielfältigem Material entwickelt die Künstlerin in AIAIA skulpturale Landschaften, bildhauerische Szenen, eine fiktive archäologische Stätte – ein Panorama an vergangenen Geschichten und scheinbar längst erloschener Handlungen. Die Installation wie auch die Objekte sind geprägt durch nicht-referenzielle Formen und beziehen ihre ganze Kraft aus dem Undefinierbaren wie Rätselhaften. 

 

Durch Klang, Bewegung, Berührung und Geräusche provoziert Anzi in Ihrer Performance stoffliche und mediale Transformationen, die Objekte verschmelzen miteinander, beginnen zu interagieren, konstituieren einen eigenen Mikrokosmos an neuen Gegebenheiten und Wesensformen. Aus dem Ort vergangener Ereignisse erhebt sich für die Betrachtenden eine neue ephemere Welt voller atmosphärischer Wendungen, getragen von flüchtiger Schönheit, beklemmenden Augenblicken und wahrnehmungsästhetischer Intensität.

 

Angela Anzi studierte an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg und an der Goldsmith University in London mit dem Schwerpunkt Zeitbezogene Medien. Parallel zur Ausstellung AIAIA ist sie derzeit mit ihrer Installation Hilfestellung an Objekten 2 (2015) in der Ausstellung OUT OF SPACE  in der Hamburger Kunsthalle zu sehen. Zuvor wurden Ihre Arbeiten unter anderem im Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts in Taipei, der Accademia Albertina in Turin, in den Deichtorhallen (Sammlung Falckenberg) in Hamburg sowie im Aargauer Kunsthaus gezeigt.

Performances:

15. Juli um 19:30 Uhr

16. Juli um 18:30 Uhr
17. Juli um 18:30 Uhr
18. Juli um 18:30 Uhr

31. Juil um 17:00 Uhr - Finissage

Die Besucherzahl ist beschränkt, wir bitten daher um Anmeldung.