2019-Einladung zur Angst-Ausstellung1-(c)Minjae Lee Kopie.jpg

Minjae LEE

In his expansive installations and performances, Minjae Lee (*1984) embarks on a captivating and sensitive search for a confrontation with fear. In the process, the artist places his own body in a field of tension between light and sound effects, which is heightened by the real presence of the viewers.  

 

His "You don't need to be afraid", in its stubborn repetition, written in chalk on the dark walls of a six-metre-long, windowless corridor, mutates from an affectionate attempt to appease to a threat. The oppressive narrowness of the corridor barely allows Minjae Lee to breathe as he moves sideways back and forth. As soon as a sentence is finished, it is blurred by the artist's subsequent movement along the wall. Like the performance "Narrowest Corridor", "Heartfelt Invitation to Fear" appeals to the visitors' confrontation with the fear that can grip any human being. At the same time, the fear Minjae Lee works with, which he tells about so poignantly, has long since turned from a once evolutionary protective mechanism into the socio-cultural context of the performance society.  

 

The spirals of thought visualised in the processual action stretch across walls and floors in various installations as oppressive mantras - coolly fluorescent and only recognisable under black light. Through the seemingly endless, ephemeral words, Minjae Lee's installations and performances visually recreate the oppressive feeling of fear in a spatial situation. All that remains of the performances are the artist's battered T-shirts, as textile witnesses to the Sisyphus labour. As a trace of the elusive fear, a white veil is finally pressed into the black cotton T-shirt. In the relics of the performances, the repetitive work of the artist materialises as the object-formed treading of a feeling that collectively weighs down society. As if trapped in his recurring trains of thought, the artist cannot free himself from the mental cycle – he cannot ‘write’ himself out of it. 

 

Minjae Lee also uses his breath for the fragmentary materialisation of fear. Tentatively, for "Before Fear is After Fear", he breathes each individual letter onto the prepared glass pane behind which he stands, while the visitor's face is directly confronted with the artist on the other side. Fear comes between the viewer and the artist for a moment when Minjae Lee gives it an ephemeral form through his deeply human gesture of breathing. 

 

The poignant encounter with such an indeterminate form of fear not only probes the artist's individual feeling, but also understands the feeling in the context of a social constitution that has become the conditio humana of the present. We are challenged to confront this fear and to fathom it together. 

Vita

  • 1984 born in Anyang, Gyeonggi-do / South Korea

  • lives and works in Munich

  • 2004-2010 Bachelor of Fine Arts, ChuGye University for the Arts, Seoul

  • 2015-2021 Studies of Sculpture, Academy of Fine Arts Munich with Prof. Gregor Schneider and Prof. Florian Pumhösl

  • 2021Diploma in Fine Arts, Academy of Fine Arts Munich, with Prof. Florian Pumhösl 

Awards

  • 2021 – Prize of the Academy Association for the diploma 

  • 2021 – Edenkoben Scholarship of the Rhineland-Palatinate Foundation for Culture 

  • 2020 – STIBET Programme of the DAAD 

  • 2020 – Artist in Residence Scholarship Holder, KulturRING Demmin, T30 e.V., Hanstestadt Demmin 

  • 2020 – Max Ernst Scholarship, city of Brühl 

  • 2019 – Scholarship International Summer Academy Salzburg with Yorgos Sapountzis 

  • 2018 – Scholarships for foreign students from the Bayer. State Ministry for Education and Culture, Science and Art 

  • 2018 –  LfA Calendar, cultural funding "young art in Bavaria 2019" from the LfA 2018 –  Prize of the Akademieverein for the annual exhibition (class of Prof. Pumhösl), Akademie of Fine Arts Munich 

  • 2018 – Oskar-Karl-Forster-Stipendium-Fonds

2019-Einladung zur Angst-Ausstellung1-(c)Minjae Lee Kopie.jpg

Minjae LEE

In seinen raumgreifenden Installationen und Performances begibt Minjae Lee (*1984) sich auf eine mitreißende sowie einfühlsame Suche nach der Konfrontation mit Angst. Dabei setzt der Künstler seinen eigenen Körper in ein Spannungsfeld zwischen Licht und Soundeffekten, das von der realen Präsenz der Betrachter noch gesteigert wird. 

 

„Du brauchst keine Angst zu haben“, mutiert in seiner sturen Wiederholung, geschrieben mit Kreide an die dunklen Wände eines sechs Meter langen, fensterlosen Korridors, vom liebevollen Beschwichtigungsversuch zur Drohung. Die bedrückende Enge des Gangs erlaubt es Minjae Lee kaum zu atmen, während er sich seitlich vor und zurück bewegt. Sobald ein Satz beendet ist, wird er durch die nachfolgende Bewegung des Künstlers verwischt. Wie die Performance „Engster Korridor“ appelliert auch die „Herzliche Einladung zur Angst“ an die Auseinandersetzung der Besucher mit der Angst, die jeden Menschen ergreifen kann. Dabei ist die Angst mit der Minjae Lee arbeitet, von der er so ergreifend erzählt, längst vom einst evolutionären Schutzmechanismus zum sozio-kulturellen Kontext der Leistungsgesellschaft geworden. 

 

Die im prozessualen Handeln visualisierten Gedankenspiralen, ziehen sich in verschiedenen Installationen als bedrückende Mantras über Wände und Böden — kühl fluoreszierend und nur unter Schwarzlicht erkennbar. Über die endlos erscheinenden, ephemeren Worte stellen Minjae Lees Installationen und Performances das bedrückende Gefühl der Angst in einer Raum-situation visuell her. Von der Handlung übrig, bleiben nur die geschundenen T-Shirts des Künstlers, als textile Zeugen der Sysiphosarbeit. Als Spur der schwer greifbaren Angst drückt sich schließlich ein weißer Schleier in das schwarze Baumwoll-T-Shirt. In den Relikten der Performances materialisiert sich die repetitive Arbeit des Künstlers als objektgewordene Beschreitung eines Gefühls das die Gesellschaft kollektiv beschwert. Wie gefangen in seinen wiederkehrenden Gedankensträngen, kann sich der Künstler nicht aus dem geistigen Zyklus befreien, sich nicht herausschreiben.

 

Auch seinen Atem bemüht Minjae Lee zur fragmentarischen Materialisierung von Angst. Zaghaft haucht er für „Vor der Angst ist nach der Angst“ jeden einzelnen Buchstaben an die präparierte Glasscheibe, hinter der er steht, während das Gesicht des Besuchers auf der anderen Seite direkt mit dem Künstler konfrontiert wird. Die Angst tritt für einen Moment zwischen Betrachter und Künstler, wenn Minjae Lee ihr durch seine zutiefst menschliche Geste des Hauchens eine ephemere Form verleiht.

 

Die ergreifende Begegnung mit einer so unbestimmten Form von Angst lotet nicht nur das individuelle Gefühl des Künstlers aus, sondern versteht das Gefühl auch im Kontext einer gesellschaftlichen Verfasstheit, die zur Conditio humana der Gegenwart geworden ist. Wir sind aufgefordert uns dieser Angst zu stellen und sie gemeinsam zu ergründen.

Vita

  • Geb. 1984 in Anyang, Gyeonggi-do / Südkorea

  • Lebt und arbeitet in München

  • 2004-2010 Bachelor of Fine Arts mit Schwerpunkt "Malerei", ChuGye University for the Arts, Seoul

  • 2015-2021 Studium Bildhauerei, Akademie der Bildenden Künste München

  • 2021Diplom Freie Kunst, Akademie der Bildenden Künste München, bei Prof. Florian Pumhösl

Auszeichnungen

  • 2021 – Preis des Akademievereins zum Diplom

  • 2021 – Edenkoben-Stipendium der Stiftung Rheinland-Pfalz für Kultur

  • 2020 – STIBET-Programm des DAAD

  • 2020 – Artist in Residence Stipendiat, KulturRING Demmin, T30 e.V., Hansestadt Demmin

  • 2020 – Max Ernst-Stipendium, Stadt Brühl

  • 2019 – Stipendium International Sommerakademie Salzburg bei Yorgos Sapountzis

  • 2018 – Stipendien für ausländische Studierende des Bayer. Staatsministeriums für Bildung und Kultus, Wissenschaft und Kunst

  • 2018 – LfA-Kalender, Kulturförderung “junge Kunst in Bayern 2019” der LfA Förderbank Bayern

  • 2018 – Preis des Akademievereins zur Jahresausstellung (Klasse Pumhösl), Akademie der Bildenden Künste München

  • 2018 – Oskar-Karl-Forster-Stipendium-Founds