ALESSANDRO BOSTELMANN
A POST-FACTUAL GROUP EXHIBITION  

May 15, 2020 - June 15, 2021

»The first composition for this group of works was my head in the style of Botero. My preoccupation with the post-truth age, with deception and falsification, fake news, and the self-created Bostelmann myth, seemed to be suddenly condensed in this picture. I had always felt a compulsion to work with post-factual. In 2016, I filmed an Arte documentary about myself and my works, and a few months later created an object in the style of Yves Klein, dated it 1960 and dedicated it to myself. I found playing with the intellectual property of others extremely satisfying. […] The appropriation of other people’s styles with such decisiveness definitely has something mind-blowing for a painter.« (Alessandro Bostelmann, 2021)

 

»Fake it till you make it« – the battle cry of the proclaimed »post-factual age«, whose quality as a guiding principle can be currently very clearly observed in social media – takes a significant turn in the first solo exhibition of the painter and conceptual artist Alessandro Bostelmann (*1992). Seven portraits of Bostelmann »from the hands of some high-profile representatives of contemporary art« are presented under the title A Post-Truth Group Exhibition. Louise Bonnet, Fernando Botero, Glenn Brown, André Butzer, George Condo, Nicole Eisenman and Kehinde Wiley – these have all seemingly contributed a portrait of the artist in their characteristic styles and their typical formal languages.

 

But it is all fake. This solo exhibition, presented as a group exhibition, is a Bostelmann wunderkammer of half-truths, a complete post-factual work of art that, to »the uninitiated or unaware«, may appear intuitively as truth within the capsule of the gallery rooms – similar to the diverse filter bubbles in the Internet that »keep the post-truth age alive in their essence.« It is a parody of the »thirst for fame« of young artists, a satirically distorted elevation and the consistent continuation of the game Bostelmann plays with the self-created myth of the artist in which he orchestrates his alter ego as an eccentric genius and celebrated artist. At the same time, his series is a homage to painting, which is supposedly dead, and its diverse means of expression.

 

In his exhibition, Bostelmann very decisively picks up on the perceived truths, half-truths and alternative facts, in short: the post-factual, as the result of a creative act or creative thinking and action. He places the allure and esthetic quality of the post-factual in the foreground, in his eyes visualized by a strongly ambivalent, surreal aura with the appeal of the grotesque and Dadaistic. When the exhibition is viewed more closely, the initial hubris, from which the post-factual may be nurtured, gives way to the exposure of one’s own inadequacy and ridiculousness – »an oscillation between megalomania and self-derision.«

ALESSANDRO BOSTELMANN

EINE POSTFAKTISCHE GRUPPENAUSSTELLUNG   

15.05.2021 - 15.06.2021

»Der erste Entwurf für diese Werkgruppe war mein Kopf im Stil von Botero. Meine Beschäftigung mit dem postfaktischen Zeitalter, mit Täuschung und Fälschung, Fake News, sowie der selbstkreierte Bostelmann-Mythos schienen sich blitzhaft in diesem Bild zu verdichten. Ich hatte immer einen Drang verspürt, mit Postfaktizität zu arbeiten. So habe ich 2016 eine ‚Arte Dokumentation‘ über mich und meine Werke gedreht und einige Monate darauf ein Objekt im Stil von Yves Klein geschaffen, auf 1960 datiert und mir selbst gewidmet. Dieses Spiel mit fremdem geistigen Eigentum empfand ich als äußerst befriedigend. […] Die Aneignung fremder Stile in solcher Entschiedenheit hat definitiv etwas Bewusstseinserweiterndes für einen Maler.« (Alessandro Bostelmann, 2021)

 

»Fake it till you make it« – der Schlachtruf des proklamierten »postfaktischen Zeitalters«, dessen Qualität als Handlungsmaxime sich derzeit besonders deutlich in den sozialen Medien beobachten lässt, erfährt in der ersten Einzelausstellung des Malers und Konzeptkünstlers Alessandro Bostelmann (*1992) eine bezeichnende Wendung. Sieben Porträts von Bostelmann »aus der Hand höchst prominenter Vertreter der zeitgenössischen Kunst« werden darin unter dem Titel Eine postfaktische Gruppenausstellung präsentiert. Louise Bonnet, Fernando Botero, Glenn Brown, André Butzer, George Condo, Nicole Eisenman und Kehinde Wiley – sie alle haben scheinbar in dem für sie kennzeichnenden Stil und ihrer typischen Formensprache ein Porträt des Künstlers beigesteuert.

 

Doch alles ist fingiert. Die sich als Gruppenausstellung präsentierende Einzelausstellung ist eine Bostelmann‘sche Wunderkammer an Halbwahrheiten, ein postfaktisches Gesamtkunstwerk, das in der Kapsel der Galerieräume für »nicht Eingeweihte oder Unwissende« intuitiv als Wahrheit erscheinen mag –analog zu den diversen Filterblasen im Internet, die »das postfaktische Zeitalter in ihrer Essenz am Leben erhalten.« Es ist eine Parodie des »Ruhmdurstes« junger Künstler, eine satirisch verzerrte Überhöhung und die konsequente Fortführung von Bostelmanns Spiel mit dem selbsterschaffenen Künstler-Mythos, in dem er sein Alter Ego als exzentrisches Genie und gefeierten Künstler inszeniert. Gleichzeitig ist seine Serie eine Hommage an die vermeintlich für tot erklärte Malerei und deren vielseitige Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten.

 

Die gefühlten Wahrheiten, Halbwahrheiten, alternativen Fakten, kurz: das Postfaktische greift Bostelmann in seiner Ausstellung ganz entschieden als Ergebnis eines schöpferischen Aktes bzw. kreativen Denkens und Handelns auf. Er stellt den Reiz und die ästhetische Qualität des Postfaktischen in den Vordergrund, die sich in seinen Augen durch eine stark ambivalente, surreale Aura mit dem Reiz des Grotesken und Dadaistischen vergegenwärtigt. Die anfängliche Hybris, aus dem sich das Postfaktische nähren mag, weicht in der näheren Betrachtung der Ausstellung einer Bloßstellung der eigenen Unzulänglichkeit und Lächerlichkeit – »ein Oszillieren zwischen Megalomanie und Selbstverspottung.«